, pub-7679908689036396, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
Dunfermline Athletic

Dunfermline 4 East Stirling 0

This match was the one that confirmed that Dunfermline Athletic were promoted and they would play in the First Division for the first time since season 1982-1983.

Jim Leishman has been appointed manager on 31st October 1983 and that season Dunfermline finished in their lowest ever league position with only five teams below them. The following season they finished third just one point off promotion and they badly needed to do better in the 1985-1986 season.

The Pars had fought it out with Queen of the South at the top of Second Division for the bulk of the season with Queens Park and Meadowbank Thistle trying to catch them. Queen of the South topped the table from early January and by mid April led the table with 51 points, one better than the Pars. By this time only Queens Park had any chance of catching the two front runners.

Dunfermline met East Stirling at home on 19th April and the Dumfries club travelled to play Arbroath at Gayfield. The top two both won with the Pars hitting four past the Shire without reply. Gary Thompson, Rowan Hamilton, Ian Campbell and Grant Jenkins were the goalscorers and each goal was wildly acclaimed but those shouts were whispers in comparison to the roar which met the tannoy announcement at the end.

The half time score from Hampden Park had been Queens Park 0 Cowdenbeath 1 and the fans knew that if it stayed that way the Pars were up. The announcement at full time was eagerly awaited but never audibly completed! Queens Park nil Cowden..... was drowned out in the tumultuous roar which erupted as the promotion dream became a reality.

The wait was over, fans young and old raced on to the park. The players ran for the dressing room but many did not make it as they were swamped by celebrating supporters. The disappointment of the previous season was forgotten and this time the news was correct.

The job was not finished though, Chairman Jimmy Watters was quoted as saying that he was looking forward to going up as champions. That was duly delivered ten days later.

DUNFERMLINE: Ian Westwater: Rowan Hamilton, Bobby Forrest, Norrie McCathie, Dave Young, Ian Gordon, Jim Bowie (Trevor Smith 85), Davie Moyes, John Watson(Grant Jenkins 83), Gary Thompson, Ian Campbell

EAST STIRLING: Andy Bowie: John Laird, Paul Leetion, Peter Tollan, John Mackay, Alex Gilchrist, Russell Doig, Gordon Wylde (Tom McDonald 71), John Gaffney, Allan McGonigal, John McLindon (Jim Barclay 71)

REFEREE: T Muirhead, Stenhousemuir

Views : 682

Related Stories

Advertisement :
  • /files/promoDisplay_1249.jpg
  • /files/KiltCompany_280_2285.jpg
  • /files/pstwebsitead_0172.jpg
  • /files/youngpars_2016_9593.jpg

To top