Dunfermline Athletic

Preview Falkirk

Saturday, 4th Feb 2017

Ladbrokes Championship: Falkirk have won only two of their last eight matches and Dunfermline are now undefeated in eleven league and cup matches .

 . Admission: Ticket Only

The last visit to the Falkirk Stadium in October resulted in a 2-1 home win but the form of both sides has changed around since then and Dunfermline travel across the Kincardine Bridge confident that it is possible to take the three points. The usual warm Falkirk welcome can be expected from the Bairns fans and this should be a really fiercely contested contest.

Dunfermline v Falkirk: The Full League Record

 . P W D L
TOTALS 92 30 21 41

There have only been four Dunfermline wins in the last twenty league meetings, Falkirk have won six of the last twelve. .Over the 92 league matches played between them Falkirk are ahead 41 v 30. .

Milestones Falkirk (Away)

Last League Victory



First Div

Last League Defeat




Best League Victory



First Division*

Worst League Defeat



First Division*

*Pre league reconstruction

Since the Pars last defeated Falkirk, a 3-0 win on the final day of the 2011 title winning season, Falkirk are undefeated in the six league games and two league cup ties.

Last 12 League Matches v Falkirk

26/12/16 H 1-1 D
15/10/16 A 1-2 L
27/03/13 H 0-2 L
16/02/13 A 0-1 L
26/12/12 H 0-1 L
06/10/12 A 2-2 D
07/05/11 H 3-0 W
12/03/11 A 2-1 W
15/02/11 H 1-1 D
07/08/10 A 1-0 W
19/05/07 H 0-3 L
13/01/07 A 0-1 L

Last League Meeting at Falkirk Stadium
15th October 2016

A crowd of 6377 turned out to see the first league match between the teams for over three and a half years. Falkirk went ahead after 27 minutes when John Baird`s ball over the top put in Craig Sibbald to clip the ball over Sean Murdoch.

The Bairns doubled their lead just eight minutes into the second half. Myles Hippolyte created a fine chance for himself, beating off approaches to dispossess him and drilling his shot into the net from 30 yards out.

Farid El Alagui got a goal back for the Pars to make the final fourteen minutes much more pressurised than the home side had anticipated.

FALKIRK: Danny Rogers: Luca Gasparotto, David McCracken, Lewis Kidd (Paul Watson 80) Luke Leahy, Tom Taiwo (John Rankin 80), Mark Kerr, Myles Hippolyte (Scott Shepherd 80), Craig Sibbald, John Baird, Bob McHugh.
SUBS NOT USED: Cameron Blues, Lee Miller, Tony Gallacher, Lewis Deniz Dogan Mehmet (GK)

DUNFERMLINE: Sean Murdoch: Ryan Williamson, Lewis Martin, Lee Ashcroft, Jason Talbot, Michael Paton (Gavin Reilly 74), Andy Geggan (c), Rhys McCabe (David Hopkirk 59), Kallum Higginbotham: Farid El Alagui, Nicky Clark.
SUBS NOT USED: Michael Moffat, Ben Richards-Everton, Paul McMullan, Euan Spark, David Hutton (GK)

Falkirk . Dunfermline
Current League Position
4 6
League Points
34 26
Goal Difference
+7 -3
Last six League form
Home / Away League Record
P11, W5, D3, L3 P11, W3, D3, L5

Recent Form

Falkirk completed a run of eight matches unbeaten when they defeated Dunfermline in October but they have won only two of their last eight matches. They have managed only one home win (v St Mirren) since that Pars visit to the Falkirk Stadium in October.

Dunfermline are now undefeated in eleven league and cup matches.

 . Form last six matches
 . . Falkirk  .  . Dunfermline
 . St Mirren (A) W 2-1  . Dundee United (H) D 1-1
 . Morton (A) L 0-2  . Alloa Athletic (A) W


 . Ayr United (H) D


 . St Mirren (H) D


 . Raith Rovers (A) W 4-1  . Ayr United (A) W


 . Hibernian (H) L


 . Raith Rovers (A) W 2-0
 . Dunfermline Athletic (A) D 1-1  . Falkirk (H) D 1-1

Last Time Out

DUNFERMLINE (v Dundee United): .Sean Murdoch: Andy Geggan (c), Lee Ashcroft, Callum Morris, Jason Talbot: Paul McMullan (Joe Cardle 72), John Herron, Nat Wedderburn, Kallum Higginbotham (David Hopkirk 80): Nicky Clark, Michael Moffat (Gavin Reilly 76)
SUBS NOT USED: Rhys McCabe, Lewis Martin, Callum Fordyce, David Hutton (GK)

FALKIRK (v St Mirren): Danny Rodgers: Aaron Muirhead, Paul Watson, Peter Grant, Luke Leahy: Fraser Aird (Lewis Kidd 90), Mark Kerr, Craig Sibbald, Myles . Hippolyte, Lee Miller (Bob McHugh 82), John Baird.(Luca Gasparotto 90).
SUBS NOT USED: Scott Shepherd, James Craigen, Tony Gallacher, Robbie Thomson (GK)

Referee will be Willie Collum.

Related Stories

Advertisement :
files/SHOP_WEBSITE_5832.jpgviews: 1,624

To top